Day Two Session One is over and we’ve updated the standings below. Mike Warfield worked his magic and gave Jeff Westphal a car he could drive into P1 as the fastest time of the day with a 1:46.631. Chris Rado ran the second fastest time of the weekend with a 1:49.116 in his Team Need for Speed WORLD Racing Scion tC eclipsing Billy Johnson and the FX Motorsports Development NSX. However, immediately following the lap a catastrophic engine failure ended Rado’s day early. Apparently the FX Motorsports Development team is also done because Billy was notoriously absent from this first session. In addition to Westphal another surprise appearance on the grid was Jacob Tanaka and his Tanaka Racing Limited RWD Chevrolet Corvette. Jacob’s crew battled back from from engine problems yesterday to make the first session today. Ken Suen extended his lead in Street FWD with a 2:01.872, while defending class record holder, Clint Boisdeau is still struggling with his Apollo Performance Ford Focus. The next session starts at 12:25pm and our GTA Live! web broadcast starts at 2:30pm. Until then, peep the current standings here.

GTA Round 1 Buttonwillow Event Images Link

Ultd AWD 1st Jeff Westphal GST Motosports Subaru Impreza L 1:46.631*
Ultd AWD 2nd Sauce Bauce (Travis Barnes) Snail Performance Subaru WRX 1:59.367
Ultd AWD 3rd Russ Taylor Mitsubishi Evo X 9:09.970
Ultd RWD 1st Billy Johnson FX Motorsports Development Acura NSX 1:49.241
Ultd RWD 2nd Thomas Merrill AM Racing Nissan 370Z 1:57.520
Ultd RWD 3rd Will Faules EDGE Motorworks BMW Three Series 1:57.756
Ultd RWD 4th Taoby Aleman Mazda RX-7 2:23.020
Ultd FWD 1st Chris Rado Team Need for Speed WORLD Racing Scion tC 1:49.116
Ltd AWD 1st Michael Chang Evasive Motorsports Mitsubishi Evo 1:49.546
Ltd AWD 2nd Istvan Klag Nightmotorsport Subaru WRX 2:07.739
Ltd RWD 1st Carl Rydquist Berk Technology BMW 135i 1:52.487**
Ltd RWD 2nd Eiji “Tarzan” Yamada Platte Forme a.g. BMW M3 1:54.737
Ltd RWD 3rd Jacob Tanaka Tanaka Racing Chevrolet Corvette 2:05.137
Ltd RWD 4th Bryan Friday Project Import Honda S2000 2:07.397
Ltd RWD 5th Chad Boyles AM Racing Nissan 370Z 2:14.453
Ltd RWD 6th Patrick Tam DNA Motoring Honda S2000 2:15.082
Ltd FWD 1st Tim Kuo Sportcar Motion Integra Type-R 1:56.214
Ltd FWD 2nd Alex Peng Novak Racing Honda Civic 1:59.843
Ltd FWD 3rd Carlos Valenzuela Honda CRX 2:11.650
Str AWD 1st Clint Boisdeau Apollo Performance Subaru WRX 1:58.412
Str AWD 2nd Taylor Wilson Fat Snail Perfomance Subaru WRX 2:00.746
Str AWD 3rd Roy Narvaez RD Engineering Nissan GT-R 2:01.063
Str AWD 4th Matt Dennison Matt Dennison Mitsubishi Evo 2:04.458
Str AWD 5th Thomas Smith Subaru STI 2:04.631
Str AWD 6th Tony Brown Nightmotorsport Subaru WRX 2:07.071
Str AWD 7th Chris Frick HG Motorsports Mitsubishi Evo 2:07.518
Str RWD 1st Carl Rydquist Berk Technology BMW 135i 1:56.591**
Str RWD 2nd VJ Mirzayan Evolution Racewerks BMW 135i 1:57.438
Str RWD 3rd Alex Peng momofoolio Racing/ Novak Racing/ JRZ USA Honda S2000 1:58.814
Str RWD 4th Andrie Hartanto Honda S2000 1:59.362
Str RWD 5th Kazuyuki Saegusa Honda S2000 2:04.720
Str FWD 1st Ken Suen Godspeed X Sportcar Motion Honda Civic Si 2:01.872
Str FWD 2nd Mike Bonanni Team Need for Speed Scion tC 2:06.899
Str FWD 3rd Kevin Courtney Project Import Honda Accord 2:07.281
Str FWD 4th Clint Boisdeau Apollo Performance Ford Focus NT

*Fastest time of the day
**New Class record